Charlie Andrade
3 min readFeb 13, 2021

--

Huncho Jack, Jack Huncho is one of the most over-hated albums in recent memory. The collaboration album between trap artist Travis Scott and his genre colleague Quavo was seen as one of the more disappointing albums of 2017. I listened and found an exciting trap album full of the personality of Travis and Quavo.

When I first listened to ‘Huncho Jack’ I was surprised to find that the album wasn’t very warmly received. Common complaints of the album griped that the tracklist was boring, and the songs mushed together to form a lack of cohesive creativity that usually comes from Travis. Honestly, I don’t really understand this logic. Trap music is a genre that generally sounds really similar from track to track, and I think it’s a bit pointless to criticize ‘Huncho Jack’ for the same traits that most trap music contains. In my opinion, ‘Huncho Jack’ actually is one of the most interesting trap albums in recent memory, with the vocals being more pronounced mixed with these interesting samples. ‘Huncho Jack’ differentiates itself by being able to incorporate the vocals into the song while still maintaining the beat that makes it trap music.

I find Quavo and Travis to be a very enjoyable duo, with both of them utilizing these interesting hooks to make the tracks absolute bangers. Every song on the album feels like a party encapsulated, with songs like ‘Huncho Jack’ and ‘Moon Rock’ being filled with energy from start to finish. I think both of them…

--

--

Charlie Andrade
0 Followers

Writing about music, politics, and sports.